DSI sponsors volleyball tournament

Volleyball is Sri Lanka’s National sport. DSI is proud to be associated with this sport as it helps young Sri Lankan’s who take up this discipline.
DSI has made a commitment to sponsor the inter-school volleyball championship - named as the DSI Super Sport Volleyball Championships - which will be held in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Volleyball Federation and the Sports Division of the Education Ministry. The championship has been scheduled to be held from October to December.
The DSI Super Sport Volleyball Championship, recognized as the premier tournament in the field of volleyball, accommodated a record 1848 school teams last year. This year DSI plans to take the championship to a higher level attracting more schools to participate.


Sanga shares his cricket knowledge with kids

On a bright, sunny day, the enthusiastic winners of the ‘Viva Coaching Camp’ gathered expectantly at Keththarama Stadium to kick-off the two-day cricket camp with the vice-captain of the Sri Lankan cricket team and Viva brand ambassador Kumar Sangakkara.
With smiles on their faces the excited youth dashed towards Sangakkara. The Viva brand ambassador, Sangakkara, led the kids onto the field and sat them down on the ground around him. Questions about cricket, his childhood and various aspects of his life soon came flying at him from all directions. He laughingly answered each one of them. The youngsters watched spell-bound as he demonstrated some cricketing techniques, all the while divulging valuable tips and tricks to help them improve their batting styles.
The winners of the ‘Viva Coaching Camp’ were selected in a lucky draw that they participated in by filling out entry coupons which were included in every Viva 400g pack. The 100 lucky winners were then divided into two groups of 50 to have more personal interaction with Sangakkara.
Although Sangakkara is getting ready to go to the ICC Mini World Cup this week, he seemed to enjoy, and even relish the two days spent with the youngsters on the field. His face shone with happiness as he played with the kids and he even spent time with the kid’s family members when they came to the ground. He freely signed autographs and posed for pictures with everyone who asked.


All set for cricket academy

Former Sri Lanka fast bowler Tony Opatha has tied up with Moors Sports Club to start an international cricket academy at the club grounds at Braybrooke Place.
The academy which will be opened before mid-November is the brain child of Opatha and Moors SC.
Opatha is the chairman/chief executive director of the academy with Lantra Fernando as head coach, S.K. Paranavithana as assistant coach and Laxman Ranasinghe and Manjula Rajakaruna as coaches.
The academy will provide a unique opportunity for young cricketers to develop their talents in the age groups of under 13, 15, 17 and 19.


NCC – SSC clash for J R Jayawardene Trophy

The traditional clash between arch rivals NCC and SSC for the J. R. Jayawardene trophy will be played at the Singhalese Sports Club grounds today commencing at 10.00 a. m.
The annual encounter, which will be played for the eighth consecutive year, first took place in 1999. Last year SSC won the encounter by a comfortable 48 runs to take their tally of wins to three. NCC has also won the encounter thrice with one game ending in a no-decision.
This year’s encounter is expected to be closely fought between the two teams which will be led by Upul Chandana (NCC) and Avishka Gunawardene (SSC).
The teams:
NCC: Upul Chandana (captain) Akalanka Ganegama (vice-captain), Russell Arnold, Hashan Tillakaratne, L. Fernando, S. Wijeyaratna, T. Fernando, Kosala Kulasekara, Jeremy Saverimuthupulle, T. Kottehewa, C. Athukorale, S. Soysa, I. Muthalip, Dahanayake, U. Varuna, C. Komasaru, D. Mapa, K. Gunawardena, U.K.D. Aravinda, Leo Wijesinghe (Manager).
SSC: Avishka Gunawardene, (captain), Jeevan Mendis (vice-captain), Tharanga Paranavitana, Tilan Samaraweera, Anushka Polonowita, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Kaushal Silva, Nuwan Zoysa, Dammika Prasad, Chaminda Vidanapathirana, Dunil Abeydeera, Charith Jayaweera, Suraj Mohomed, Damith Indika, Shalika Karunanayake.