D.S. Senanayake on first innings

By Mariks our Kandy correspondent
D.S. Senanayake College gained a first innings lead over Kingswood College in their 1st X1 inter-school cricket match which concluded at Peradeniya yesterday, enabling them to win the Hashan Tillakartne Trophy.
Chief scores:
Kingswood 139 all out ( Prasad Senaratne 20, Ranpath Jayawansa 16, Asiri Amarasinghe 36, Migara Bandaranayake 16, R. Laksiri 6/31, M. Marasinghe 2/17). and 139 for 8 when the stumps were drawn. ( Asiri Amarasinghe 23, Nirmal Jayasooriya 31, Migara Bandaranayake 30, R. Laksiri 4/31).
D.S. Senanayake 108 for 3 over night 255 all out ( D. Harischandra 27, Weeragoda22, D. Samarakody 87, M. Perera 64, Ranpath Jayawansa 4/83, Chalitha Darmaprema 4/50).
Sylvestrians take honours
St. Sylvester’s College Kandy recorded a first innings win over Trinity College in their First XI cricket match played at Asgiriya International Stadium yesterday.
Chief scores:
St. Sylvester’s 170 all out. ( Rajitha Wickramarachchi 61, Kasun Alwis 23, Ravi Karunarthne 17, Nuwan Silva 24, Sachith Pathirane 6/72, Romesh Perera 4/52) and 178 all out (Rajitha Wickramarchchi 13, M.Fashal 15, Ravi Karunarthne 42, Romesh Perera 2/42, Sachith Pathirane 5/71).
Trinity – 95 all out ( Wasika Munasinghe 16, Rajitha Bandara 19, Ravi Karunarthne 4/44, Chanaka Ranaweera 2/17) and 171 for 7 at close of play (Wasika Munasinghe 21, Derrick Joachim 34, Sachith Pathirane 22, Romesh Perera 39, Rajivi Bandara 14 no).
Muzahir on fire
Nizam Muzahir made an aggressive 70 as S.Thomas’ batting for the second time made 143 for 4 at close in their drawn inter-school 1st X1 cricket fixture against Lumbini at Mount Lavinia yesterday.
Muzahir raced to his fifty in just 21 balls. Earlier Lumbini continuing from their overnight score of 1 for 2, in reply to S.Thomas’ 267, made 171for 9 declared.
Chief scores:
S.Thomas’ 267 and 143 for 4 at close (Nizam Muzahir 71, S.Pussegolla 29 no).
Lumbini 1 for 2 overnight continued 171 for 9 declared (H.Chathuranga 40, C.Prabath 47, W.Dhanushka 49, C.Pussegolla 3 for 36, Ashan Peiris 2 for 20).


Nine records broken at athletics

S.Anandagoda of Central Province broke Damayanthi Dharsha’s 1992 record in the under-17, 100 metres heats on the third day of the 12th National Schools Athletics Meet held at the Sugathadasa Stadium yesterday.
Other records were: A. A. Gayanthika Thushari of Southern Province in the U-21, 1500 metres finals; K.D.Abeyasinghe of Central Province in the U-19, 1500 metres finals; H.G.Ranmini Madhushika of Western Province in the U-15, 100 metres heats; Viraj Charitha Vithana of Western Province in the U-19, 100 metres heats; Nayana Prasad Dharmaratne of Western Province in the U-21, 100 metres heats; S.D.Ushantha Asiri of North Central Province in the U-17, 110 metres hurdles finals; R.M.C.Subashini of Wayamba Province in the U-21, 400 metres finals; and W.M.Sonali Kumari Weerasekara of North Central Province in the U-19 discus throw finals.
The meet will conclude today at the same venue. (SKR)


Petes in unimpressive win

St. Peter’s looked a far cry from being a champion side and was forced to pull out all their resources before beating St. Joseph’s 18-0 in the curtain raiser to the Milo inter-school knockout rugby tournament at the Royal College Sports Complex at Reid Avenue yesterday.
The first half was a nightmare for the Peterites during which they squandered many impressive moves due to sloppy ball-handling.
The lads however, got their act together somewhat in the second half and raked in two tries to finally win with a score that was made up of three unconverted tries and a penalty that came off the boot of Harsha Weerakkody.
The pick among the forwards was lock forward Ishan Noor but tries came from skipper Harin Ariyawardene, Jerrard Canute and prop Nimantha Karunrathna. (RN)


SLC to spend whopping Rs. 92 million on domestic cricket

By Sa’adi Thawfeeq
Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has set aside a whopping budget of Rs. 92 million for the 2006-07 domestic cricket season which includes a car worth Rs. 1.6 million to the Premier League Man-of-the-Tournament.
A budget of Rs. 35,943,000 has been set aside for the Premier league which will feature 14 clubs while a further Rs. 12,183,250 will be spent on the Premier limited overs tournament which will also feature the same number of clubs.
Although prize monies and allowances to clubs and players have been upgraded for all the tournaments conducted by SLC, the main focus will be on the Premier competitions where the league champions will walk away with Rs. One million and the runner-up with Rs. 750,000. The Best Batsman and Best Bowler will each receive Rs. 100,000. A total of 58 matches are scheduled to be played by 14 clubs – 42 three-day games and 16 four-day games. Each player will receive Rs. 9,000 per match (3-day) and Rs. 12,000 per match (4-day). Likewise, each team will receive Rs. 75,000 per match (3-day) and Rs. 100,000 per match (4-day).
For the Premier limited overs where 14 clubs play 45 matches, the winning team will receive Rs. 500,000 and the runner-up Rs. 300,000. The man-of-the-tournament will get Rs. 50,000 and the Best Batsman and Best Bowler Rs. 35,000 each. These figures remain unchanged from the previous season.
The new additions are the awarding of a car to the Man-of-the-Tournament (league) and Rs. 5000 for man-of-the-match for a Premier league game and Rs. 2,500 for a limited over.
Giving reasons why SLC has decided to pump in so much money on domestic competitions, SLC secretary K. Mathivanan said: “We want to give a more professional outlook to our domestic competitions especially the Premier. We want the players to really focus on the game and produce quality cricket.”
Mathivanan disclosed that the increase from last year’s domestic budget was Rs. 20 million.
The 2006-07 season has already got under way with the completion of the under 23 tournament last weekend where SSC emerged champions defeating NCC on the first innings.
For the Sara trophy league and limited overs tournaments the budgets set aside are Rs. 11,494,180 and Rs. 4,396,750 respectively. The division II Donovan Andree trophy and the Twenty20 competitions will cost Rs. 6,977,500 and Rs. 2,045,000 respectively.
Mathivanan also revealed that discussions are under way to provide player clothing for each of the 14 Premier clubs and for live television coverage of one match per weekend.
“The awards for all the tournaments will be distributed at a gala dinner hosted by SLC at a leading hotel at the end of the season,” he said.
The following tournaments for the 2006-07 season are scheduled to start on the following dates:
October 21: Sara trophy (limited overs)
November 1: Premier trophy (limited overs)
November 8: Premier trophy (league)
November 18: Sara trophy (league)
December 2: Donovan Andree trophy (division II)
January: Division III (final round)
February 3: Twenty20