Print this page

28 SLFP parliamentarians defy party ban

Rate this story
(3 votes)
28 SLFP parliamentarians defy party ban (Pic by Venura Chandramalitha)

Attend third Pro-Mahinda rally at Rathnapaura

The third rally which was organized by the coalition partners of United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) to force the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) to bring President Mahinda Rajapaksa back to active politics as the Prime Ministerial candidate at the next general election was held at Rathnapaura last Thursday. Despite the SLFP ruling of not to attend the meetings organized by other political parties, around 28 SLFP Parliamentarians participated at the Rathnapaura meeting.

The rally was organized by four UPFA partners; National Freedom Front (NFF), Mahajana Eksath Peramuna (MEP), Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) and Democratic Left Front (DLF). The first rally was held in Nugegoda and the SLFP’s ruling came prior to the second rally at Kandy. However, none has been called for disciplinary actions by the party and the number of attendees was increased to 28 accordingly.

Excluding the main organizers; Wimal Weerawansa, Dinesh Gunawardena, Vasudeva Nanayakkara and Udaya Gammanpila, Parliamentarians Kumara Welgama, Bandula Gunawardena, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Manusha Nanayakkara, Gamini Lokuge, Ranjith Zoysa, Roshan Ranasinghe, S.M. Chandrasena, Janaka Wakkumbura, Salinda Dissanayake, Dilum Amunugama, Janaka Priyantha Bandara, Shriyani Wijewickrema, Sunny Rohana Kodithuwakku, Lohan Ratwatte, S.E. Muthukumara, Shehan Semasinghe, Y.G. Padmasiri, T.B. Ekanayake, Uditha Lokubandara, Chamika Buddhadasa, Vidura Wickremanayake, Kamala Ranatunga, Dr. Rohana Pushpakumara, B.K. Indika, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Geethanjana Gunawardena and Thenuka Vidanagamage were also on the stage.

Western Provincial Council Chief Minister Prasanna Ranathunga was also a notable figure in the meeting and organizers said that around 300 SLFP local government level politicians attended the rally with the party members and supporters. Meanwhile, NFF Leader Wimal Weerawansa said that they will bring 68 MPs on the stage when they meet for their next rally to bring Mahinda Rajapaksa back in politics. Sources said that the next meeting will be held in Kurunegala most probably.

The efforts to contact the SLFP high ranking officials to get their comment on violation of a party rule proved futile, as most didn’t answer the calls from The Nation.

Last modified on Monday, 30 March 2015 19:23
Copyrights protected: All the content on this website is copyright protected and can be reproduced only by giving the due courtesy to www.nation.lk' Copyright © 2011 Rivira Media Corporation Ltd., 742, Maradana Road,Colombo 10, Sri Lanka. Web Solution By Mithila Kumara | All rights reserved.