Remembering ‘1971’

Rate this story
(0 votes)


JVP’s breakaway group, Frontline Socialist Party also organized a function to mark the JVP insurrection of 1971. FLSP had organized four separate events on the same day named as “Shreshta Parajayak, Nomiyena Aramunak” (An Honorable Defeat, an Eternal Goal). The events took place at Sanasa Hall, Gampaha, Fisheries Complex Hall, Ambalangoda, YMBA Hall, Kandy and Anuradhapura No.2 Town Hall near the Anuradhapura Public Fair.


The 44th year commemoration of the April Heroes by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna took place at Tangalle last Sunday. The event was organized under the theme “Sada Samaramu Sohoyuro” (Let Us Commemorate Our Comrades Forever). JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake, former leader Somawansha Amarasinghe and almost all front row members as well as others participated in the event.

Copyrights protected: All the content on this website is copyright protected and can be reproduced only by giving the due courtesy to' Copyright © 2011 Rivira Media Corporation Ltd., 742, Maradana Road,Colombo 10, Sri Lanka. Web Solution By Mithila Kumara | All rights reserved.